EcoBoost My Ranger!


Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Ford has much too much eGo in their EcoBoost. What are they thinking in Detroit? Did they not know we were in serious economic trouble? Did they not consider the possibility of another run up on gas prices? Power? As a pest control fleet owner I could car less about power. We carry 500-1200 pounds in the bed, not 3,000 pounds. We are not racing them off-road. I don’t think I’d want my guys to even consider the possibility that they could power down the streets.

Yet, when you listen to Ford promotions and videos, estimated gas mileage is simply at the bottom of the list. Ford claims these F150’s will get 23 on the highway and a limpy 16 on the streets. That’s if you believe the numbers. Naturally, “Driving mileage will vary” based on driving conditions and driving skills. I’m a mid-sized guy that wants vehicles built for my needs and size. I don’t want to be supersized! Ford should not be telling the public what they want.

Oh, if you haven’t heard and if you don’t know yet. There is no commitment from Ford to continue the Ranger beyond the 1st quarer or 1st half of 2012. The dealerships are running down the stock of Rangers. I am told, as they are told, that something will replace the Ranger. For now, they are pushing everyone up into the F150. Well, I’m not being pushed up. I’m being pushed over into a Tacoma, a Frontier or a Dakota. I’m simply not going to buy a bigger vehicle for all the power in the world. While Ford gives up on light trucks (and for all its’ years in operation, the Ranger was never more than an average, clanky, yet useful light truck). Ford should be doing what I expect its’ competition will be doing. That is, they will be improving their offerings to the light truck community.

I’m saying it now for Ford to hear. The pest control industry and many other service industries that have Ranger fleets will be abandoning Ford.

P.S. Push those social media buttons and express your opinion.

4 Responses to EcoBoost My Ranger!

  1. Keith says:

    Agreed. I just can’t quite get to buying somethhing foreign and I know what you are going to say – everything these days is! I just want a decent sized truck without all the hoopla and I want it at a reasonable price. I looked at a Colorado and they wanted $18,000 to $20,000, all the F-150’s I own have had to have transmissions and just don’t last. I also can’t make up my mind but somebody might want to listen to the customer. Right on Gerry!!!

  2. Gerry says:

    Hi Keith,

    Thanks for chipping in with your thoughts on the elimination of the Ranger and your history with the F150. I too would love to support our country with my purchasing dollars. I’d love it if the automobile manufacturers or some watchdog group took time to analyze exactly what components of cars were made where and made it public. Is 75% of the Toyota made in Japan? Is 75% of the F150 made in the U.S. when you evaluate the original parts manufacturer? The industry is so complex and internationally dependent.

    Recently, I’ve begun buying full maintenance and parts warrantees so I know exactly what my costs will be. I have 12 trucks in my fleet. Last spring I replaced two trucks and had two new engines put in others. I had $20K in Ranger repair bills in one month! I have had a very good experience with the service department, which has cut my hourly repair rate down to $75. That’s better than many auto shops. The dealers are really trying to get service business and bring new sales in through the back door in this bad economy. I have also received strong discounts on replacement engines that allowed me to keep my older trucks.

    Nevertheless, going forward into 2012 I need to make some serious decisions about my fleet. I might be able to use 1-2 F150s for routes that run along country roads, but for the vast majority of the routes, the F150 is not in the running. I have purchased a Ford Transit, which gets good gas mileage and provides a nice ride. But the conversion of the truck into a separate cab and bed compartment was a huge amount of work and I don’t know how that will play out when I sell the vehicle. I also know that the Ford Transit is made in Turkey and being somewhat political, I do not want to support Turkey at a time when they are wavering on supporting our western alliance. So I will not be purchasing more Transit Connects.

    Please let me know if you come up with some good ideas. I am always trying to be inventive with the contents and configuration of the truck bed and in doing so I have given the field team more flexibility while incresing safety. I will continue along that road so that I can configure easily to the truck that fits into my plans for the future. It certainly won’t be a large gas guzzler.

  3. Gerry says:

    Here is an article I found about the replacement for the Ford Ranger.
    http://www.drivesouth.co.nz/news/industry-press-releases/ford039s-new-ranger-big-on-creature-comforts.
    This sounds very enticing, a truck that could easily compete with the Tacoma. The unknown is the size and power of the vehicle vs. the fuel economy. It sounds like Ford is placing a lot of emphasis on power and 21st century tech features, but I hope they significantly improve gas mileage. Getting the MPG up into the low 20s will not sustain a vehicle that will have several model years. I also hope that there is no gap between the phaseout of the Ranger and the new introduction because people won’t want to wait around when the the time is ripe for a purchase.

  4. R says:

    After years of dealing with Fords and Chevys along side my Honda, and the Toyotas friends owned, outside of some major revolution in engineering I’ll never spend a penny on vehicles from American companies.
    On the outskirts of the industry DIY communities are already swapping out power plants on trucks but the range is still fairly limited, added weight only decreases the range. Until the industry catches up with the weekend engineers we’re stuck with internal combustion.
    I’ll leave my personal choice aside for personal use vehicle, so if I had to make this choice as a business owner I’d certinely put this through the lens of a recent Marine Corps General who delt with a very similar issue. Gen. Charles Krulak became the Commandant of the Marine Corps during the time I served. He spend the majority of his time as an Infantry Officer which ment His experience was first hand when I came to equipment. Once incharge and faced with the new footwear issue he really went outside the box on this one. To him, new boots were not an equipemtn issue, it was a workplace issue. Infantry spend most of their time in issued boots, its their main transportation and deals with every weather extream. So he order new boots to take into account the largest assests and liabilities concerning a peice of footwear….The boot’s ability to get the job done, the Marine who wore it, and its cost.
    For myself, I’d give serioius consideration to Tacoma with a heavier brake system and side access doors. If funding had wiggle room I’d consider the full size line (not to mention my preference due to my height). Much of vehicle maintentience stems from heat, the smaller the vehicle the less mass it has to disperse it. Until new power plants are able to take over it nearly comes to splitting hairs between maint. cost v. fuel economy.

Leave a Reply

