No News is Good News


Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Three days into my vacation and still no word from my management team at Hearts Pest Management. So the pest control business doesn’t need me. That’s good, because every business owner needs to get away. There is nothing like a little R&R. For the pest control team, pest control managers and pest control line staff, this is the time they truly prove their value.

Meanwhile, we had a wonderful time in Tel Aviv with my cousins. A hightlight was a trip down to the old city of Jaffa, which retains a strong Arab presence. There, my German Jewish Israeli cousins from the upper crust of academic life and we Americans mixed warmly with the local Arabs for a fine evening of dining at “The Old Man,” a
flavorful restaurant by the sea.

In Israel, there are always stories to tell, so many that you don’t have to repeat the old ones. My cousin tells us, “We have always lived with wars.” We think about ’48, ’56, ’67, ’73, ’82 etc. But he tells me that one of the earliest memories he has was hiding out during a bombing raid by the Italians on Tel Aviv during WWII.

On the way to visit my cousin, I stopped at a very fancy shopping center, on par with the richest communities in the U.S. We in the U.S. are making such a to-do about air line security. But in the U.S. it is pretty much limited to the airport. So as I enter the underground parking lot of the shopping mall, I come to a security stop. They ask to see my identification and want to know my purpose in Israel and if anyone has given me a package. Then they ask that I pop open the trunk of the car so they can check there too for bombs. Risk is always present and that risk is well managed and taken as a given. I am happy to assist them.

3 Responses to No News is Good News

  1. Keith says:

    Trust me that is a great thing!

  2. David Cole says:

    What?? you are on vacation? everything running so well I had no idea you were gone….

    Glad to hear you are having such a good time.

  3. Jerry A.C.E. says:

    So you got away from the business–but couldn’t escape the call of the blog. lol. I’m the same way and will be typing away when I’m not skiing down the mountain later this month. 😉 Hopefully I can be worry free about my little company as well.

    Enjoy your vacation and your family!

Leave a Reply

