Did I Pick Up Bed bugs in the Airport?


During my trip to NY, I spoke with two PCOs about bed bugs. In fact, in NY, it’s hard to have a pest management professional talk about anything but bed bugs. It is on their minds non-stop, for good reason. The market for bed bug work is endless. You would think that pest management professionals have reached conclusions about how to treat, but they haven’t, nor have they reached any common conclusions on how to price. That’s actually a very good thing, as different companies gear themselves to different segments of the bed bug market.

I was surprised to hear how much cryonite has entered the marketplace as a valued control mechanism. I have always thought that freezing was an excellent alternative to heating, with better penetration in a quick timeframe with equipment that is far less expensive than heat. Whether using heating or freezing equipment, what you can’t get around in some unusual logistics. The equipment just doesn’t jive with what you traditionally find on a pest control vehicle.

I found there are still companies in NY, like our own, that believe you can do one and only one bed bug treatment effectively. Yet that is not the only criteria for having only one treatment, as liability concerns dictate much of what happens in the bed bug market.

There seem to be more folks leaning to Steri-Fab over Bedlam, but while both products can be used on a bed, they are apples and oranges – non-residual vs. residual. They each have their place.

So what’s up with bed bugs in the airport? I just realized that although I’ve been having conversations all week about bed bugs, I forgot to check for them in the airport! Perhaps it’s a false calm, but I’m happy I flew Southwest out of Islip, Long Island, rather than Newark, Kennedy or LaGuardia, the urban centered airports. I love Southwest, because of what they have – great service – and what – to date, they don’t seem to have. Bed bugs.

6 Responses to Did I Pick Up Bed bugs in the Airport?

  1. Jim Nocero says:

    Gerry,
    Thank you again for a great topic…
    I have a large client base of Senior Care Facility owners, and after reading your report on Bed Bugs had generated questions that I am sure many of my clients would appreciate your expert advice on. What method/product would you recommend for facility owners to use were often frail senior residence that are easily susceptible to chemical conditions are present?

    Jim Nocero
    Stromsoe Insurance Agency
    800-378-7746

  2. Gerry says:

    We will have to do a side bar for all the details. I’ll give you a call on tuesday.

    Basically, residents will need to vacate rooms, if only for short while. Treatment needs to focus on non-chemical methods. It is best to combine a few available non-chemical methods. Bed bug encasements are very helpful, especially in reducing chemical exposure. FYI, I am now a distributor of bed bug matress and boxspring encasements. In some states and industries, the use of encasements is becoming a requirement. If chemicals are used, they’ll need to be totally inaccessible and non-airborne.

    As with any pest infestation, it is vital that the pest control technician investigate the source of the infestation. In this case, it could be a new resident, a guest or a worker. Movement of materials from one room to another then spreads the problem.

    I’ll talk to you soon.

    Thanks so much for your participation.

    Gerry

  3. jeanbarker says:

    I got hit by bed bugs in Orange, California at Days Inn… it was horrible, and they didn’t seem to care at all. In fact, they seemed to have no idea that they needed a specific strategy to deal with it. After offering to simply let me move rooms (ie spread it) they eventually agreed (when I freaked out) to refund me for the prepaid nights, but kept the first night’s payment and the taxes. I’m from South Africa, where you rarely get them (my mom once got bitten at a friend’s who was very “in” with Euro consulate people, so probably they arrived via another visitor).

  4. jeanbarker says:

    By the way, I’d recommend the following: 1. Wash and dry on high heat everything that can be washed. If it shrinks, give it away. If it doesn’t, it’s still yours. 1. What you can’t wash, throw away, or seal for two weeks in bags filled with bed bug poison. 3. Fog rooms with bed bug specific poison. It might work to use flea poison. 4. Follow up ever 6-7 days for 4 cycles to ensure they’re all dead. Only then can you sleep. And take plenty vitamin C to counteract the effects of the poison that you’ll probably breath in yourself.

  5. BB says:

    It is quite possible you picked them up at the airport.

    They are everywhere.

    You can start by Informing the authorities and alerting the people.

    I would also recommend a good bed bugs exterminator to them 🙂

    Regards,
    Ashish

  6. get rid of fleas…

    […]Did I Pick Up Bed bugs in the Airport? « Hearts Consulting Group, LLC – People and Pest Control Blog[…]…

Leave a Reply

