Why I Hire Pest Control Technicians in the Fall


I’ve often wondered as to my sanity after hiring in the fall. No doubt, it can cost more than a timely springtime hire, but I just hate to deal with any type of chaos during the spring season, when we need to be out in full force, meeting the needs of our customers for pest control service. It’s really hard to keep track of my technicians during the spring. I like to feel I have an adequate level of trust that they will do a good job, that they understand how Hearts operates and that the new team member and the team as a whole function well together.

Please enjoy this brief article I’ve written for PMP magazine’s on-line edition, Nine Reasons I Hire In The Fall.

Do let me know what you think of the article. This blog is to generate discussion, not for accolades, so tell me what you think, not what I or anyone else wants to hear.

Check out the employment page on the Hearts Pest Management website to see how this policy helps morale and what it takes to attract good employees.

Thanks,

Gerry

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

2 Responses to Why I Hire Pest Control Technicians in the Fall

  1. I can totally agree with you there. I have a team of 8 pest controllers and during the summer it’s so hard to even talk on the phone as we get so many calls coming in it’s just to much. Also you mentioned trust, luckily mine is a family business so the trust level is a natural thing but i see what you mean.

  2. Gerry says:

    Hello Wasp Nest Removal Surrey,

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    As the pest control season begins, I am finally ready to take my vacation. I’ve done the taxes. I’ve renewed my general liability insurance, my workmen’s compensation insurance, medical and auto insurance. I’ve hired 3 and fired 2 and conducted a lot of training. Unfortunately, as a result of one of the terminations, I’m still not completely ready for the spring season. Whenever I feel I’m ready for the spring season I just know I’m going to be jinxed. Oh, I purchased 4 F150 Ford trucks, and decommissioned 2 Rangers and my experiment with a Ford Transit Connect. This list goes on and on.

    You’d know better than me if it is harder with family members. Everyone needs to be productive, responsible and professional, whether or not they are family members. Certainly as you venture out into having more non-family members, the problems of hiring unvarifiable quality expands. With family members, you usually know what your getting and hope for the best.

    I’d love to hear how you keep your family members motivated in their various roles and how you keep non-family members feeling valued in a closely run family company.

    Have a good season,

    Gerry

Leave a Reply

