Leave Something On The Bone – Sick Pay, Benefits, Medical Coverage in the Pest Control Industry


Please accept my invitation to read my latest article, “Are We Ready to Lead?,” in Pest Management Professional (PMP) Magazine’s on-line edition. This month, I talk about the need for leadership in the industry that can bring together workers, managers and owners in a win-win strategy, starting with proper health care for workers and examining the larger benefits of better benefit packages.

Check out the employment page of Hearts Pest Management to see what we are doing to provide a package that employees can believe in.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

6 Responses to Leave Something On The Bone – Sick Pay, Benefits, Medical Coverage in the Pest Control Industry

  1. Thos003 says:

    Interesting read. I agree with you that companies should offer more and take care of their employees. Even offer as much as possible. It goes back to your earlier post on business run like a family. However, I see a negative to the state intefering with business. What an outsider sees and deems good for a business doesn’t take into consideration all of the other factors associated with that business. Just because it sounds good and looks good from the outside doesn’t mean that it is good.

  2. Gerry says:

    Thomas, thank you for posting a reply.

    Yes, state intervention can definitely play a negative role in the creation and growth of the economony and have inadvertant negative effects on workers.

    I would not have taken this position had I not felt that the industry operated at a very sub-standard level when it comes to benefits. So the real question for me, and I pose this to you is: Should there be some minimal standard for items such as sick leave, medical care, etc? Is minimum wage the only minimum that should be imposed by the state? Or is it in the overall benefit to society that workers have the ability to take minimal amounts, reasonable amounts of sick leave, with some outside support?

    Definitely, the left makes a serious mistake when it tries to impose European style sick and vacation benefits. Europe does not have a great record of productivity. The labor force there seems more focused on the next vacation on the Mediterranean than how to produce more efficiently.

    But the right makes a serious mistake in thinking that there are no serious repercussions in ingoring basis human needs across society. We may not be our brother’s keeper when it comes to business, but if we ignore minimal compassion, our society will devolve into a condition like that in Latin America or India, where there is a much larger split between those at the top and a large underclass.

    I think that the prosper as a nation, we need a strong middle class with safeguards that protect us from falling through the cracks. I read that the primary reason for bankruptcy is lack of proper medical insurance.

    As I read your new blog about positive thinking, my thought is that we need to provide a sound foundation for our workers, so that they are inspired and motivated to achieve, but not given so much as to think that everything comes easy.

  3. [...] Leave Something On The Bone – Sick Pay, Benefits, Medical Coverage in the Pest Control Industry [...]

  4. Gerry says:

    As a business owner, I agree with you totally. I certainly have gained substantial loyalty from my team by offering better benefits in contrast to what I see out there. No matter how much a worker likes the boss, a worker’s bottom line is based on compensation, in all its’ forms. Providing better benefits is the self-enlightened thing to do, as it leads to worker longevity, better morale, safety and productivity, even less considered points such as reduced insider theft.

    So you might wonder why I would want to force my type of pay structure on the industry. I really don’t. But we need the industry to start thinking along these lines so that the industry is seen as having a positive influence, unlike the cigarette industry.

    I don’t just wear one hat. When I am at a PCOC (Pest Control Operator of California) or NPMA meeting, I get into the spirit of considering the common good of the industry. When I write for PMP (Pest Management Professional Magazine), I write without a hidden agenda. I also believe there are a lot of good guys in our industry (in non-competiting geographic areas) that I would enjoy helping in my consulting work, people who want to do the right thing by their workers, but who in general do not have the management expertise.

    Back to minimum standards… We live in a society far from pure capitalism. Regulation and legislation has provided a foundation for fair play in life, including the work world. It is part of what makes our country great. In a fair world, yes, the cream will rise to the top… but it takes a lot longer when the playing field is far from even, or when access to basic services is denied to those without the means.

    We are so fortunate that we live in 21st century America. We just don’t have the 1st hand experience like those who came before us here and especially in other countries and other times as to how unfair life can be.

    I want to thank you again for contributing to this blog and I definitely will recommend your blog to others.

    Happy 4th. God bless America!

    Gerry

  5. [...] Pest Control. My June 2009 Pest Management Professional (PMP) “web exclusive” titled “Are We Ready to Lead?” can be found there. Please follow the link, read the article and share your thoughts on my blog. [...]

  6. [...] Pest Control. My June 2009 Pest Management Professional (PMP) “web exclusive” titled “Are We Ready to Lead?” can be found there. Please follow the link, read the article and share your thoughts on my blog. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

